Of War and Football

Written on June 15, 2010

People have been trying to replicate the rush of adrenaline born of military warfare for years. We see them reminisced in films – Saving Private Ryan and Lord of The Rings, in television – Band of Brothers, The Pacific, in digital games and in various forms of literature. These media depict the bloody past of human history in apparent nostalgia. It’s like we humans are made to steadfastly root for something, be it religion, country, family, or race, and destroy everything else that stands to oppose it. Unlike animals driven to fight for survival, we derive primal pleasure from defeats and the slaughterings of our enemies.

Yet despite this macabre truth, nobody can deny the repercussions warfare entails: the deaths, the mental trauma, the stabbing loss, the silent anguish and all things wretched the Devil revels in. War and misery go hand in hand.

Ultimately, after many centuries of engaging the same deathly follies, the need for tranquility outweighs the desire for possession and power. We refused to engage in war, any war. Well, some of us anyway. In consequence, the modern man were left with a void in need of quenching, an emptiness that harks back to the age of hunters, warriors, kings, and conquerors.

So how did we remedy this?

Some, as you all know, resort back to fighting e.g. the US and Al Qaeda, the Zionist and Hamas.

But others, the more civilized nations… do this

Qualify for World Cup oh yeah!

So, World War 3 is not favored in this day in age. But football is embraced like religion. The football champions league is as close as you could get to a decent world war. We have the Federation and the confederations which sound just like military leadership. We have the attackers and defenders, the tactics and cheats, the fouls and the foul languages, and we have the flags, the corner flags.

Essentially, football is not about the songs or people coming together. It’s about rooting for military forces I mean football teams and detesting the enemy I mean opposing team. Nobody wants anyone to die during a game. Nobody sane anyway. Seeing in realtime a ball ripping into the goalkeeper, the players limbs getting twisted in odd angles, and gruesome slow motion header are as gory as you could get in football warfare. Though better instances can be sourced from actual football fanatics. Despite this topic, I am not a football fan. I’m just an average spectator who wants replacement for the thrills of bloody warfare. And watching an allegorical sweaty football is just that.

2012: Post was written during the world cup euphoria

3 responses to “Of War and Football

  1. I am an avid reader of military history and although I agree with your statement that war is not glorious or heroic, I do think that sometimes, there are valid reasons why wars are fought. When you are attacked and you have not done anything to warrant that attack, then your natural instinct would be to defend yourself. Much like what happened with the Germans / Japanese and the Allies during WW2.

    I am just dying to watch The Pacific. I have a morbid obsession with WW2. I guess I find it utterly incomprehensible that less than 100 years ago, supposedly civilized humans were engaged in bloodbath and for what? Power? Resources? Territories? To exterminate an entire race?

    Anyway, thank you for commenting on my What Men Want post. I have stopped watching that asinine programe. Another typical example of how Malaysia cannot stop copying the West and have no original ideas of our own.

    • Hello Sherry. I’d almost forgotten about that comment. Thanks for commenting on this blog. Now I can find my way back to yours, which I think is very articulate and engaging.

      I concur. Wars are fought for various reasons. And to be fair, some out of self preservation. I think when I wrote the post I was being very frivolous, swept away by an inappropriate wave of excitement from continuously watching war films and TV shows. And later I linked it with the football madness at the time. A puerile essay I think it is. 😉

Leave a Reply

